My biggest dilemma right now…..

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So as i’ve switched to a vegan diet it would make sense that i started to make choices about my skincare & make-up being vegan too. Here is the dilemma. It is just so hard to come by here in the UK. Sure there are some brands which are available over here but there is not a big selection and by eating vegan and then not using vegan products, does that make me a hypocrite? I suppose it depends on the reason why you are vegan andΒ whether it is for health or for the animals. In my personal opinion although i have always loved animals it was initially for health but since my eyes have been opened up to the reality of what really goes on in this world i want to reduce my involvement as much as possible when it comes to animal cruelty.

My recent subscription with Love Lula has come to an end, and i would now like to sign up to a vegan beauty box instead to explore new brands. If you have any information on any UK subscription boxes of this nature, please let me know. I am aware of the vegan kind beauty box but this is every 3 months and i am greedy so i would like one every month πŸ™‚

To put it bluntly i have come to a big fat halt. I don’t want to say I’m vegan and carry on buying cosmetics and skincare which clearly cause harm to animals but i also don’t want to be limited to products which i don’t enjoy using. After all i am a big beauty junkie if you know what i mean!

What do you think? Should vegans be vegan in all areas of their life? Or is it ok to continue to use products that aren’t labelled as cruelty free?

I would really love some input from all my lovely readers on this whether you are vegan or not. If you know of any vegan brands readily available in the UK please comment too! πŸ™‚

Thanks so much for putting up with my rant.

With love,

Kate X

16 comments

  1. i have the same problem right now. i found out that basically all of my skincare and make up is tested on animals and not vegan. i want to switch to vegan products but i dont know where to begin. i don’t think you are hypocrite because you are still trying your best living a vegan lifestyle. unfortunately since i’m not living in the uk i can’t give you any tips.:(
    Good luck and btw i really like your blog πŸ™‚

  2. I think it’s entirely up to you Kate! It’ll be tough but there are some vegan brands out there. I was going to suggest the Vegan Kind Beauty Box then you said it’s 3 months. They have only just started it so I guess they might do it monthly depending on the feedback? I don’t think you’re a hypocrite at all, you’re trying your best to go vegan in all aspects so at least you are trying! It’d be way too hard to switch everything up and to just throw away old things that aren’t vegan would be a waste! πŸ™‚ x

    1. I think I’m just going to try Vegan Kind for now Amber it gets the ball rolling i should stop being greedy! hehe. I hope they get good feedback and start to do it monthly. Im certainly not throwing away old things πŸ™‚ xx

  3. When I became vegan, I really cut down on my make up. The only things I use anymore are lipstick and brow filler. Hopefully on day I’ll be able to go without those as well.

    1. I wish i could do that but i have boiled egg eyes without mascara ha ha …just kidding. That is great you managed to cut down so much. I don’t wear lots of make up but i do like applying it and messing around so i guess we shall have to see! πŸ™‚ xx

  4. Because I’m vegetarian for ethical reasons it was a no-brainer that I also try to avoid anything that isnt vegetarian/vegan/cruelty free, so I don’t have an answer for you on that I’m afraid. If you feel comfortable as you are, then carry on… but it sounds to me like you are questioning choosing products that might have had a negative impact on animals at some point in their production. If you haven’t already, I’d check out Vegan Cuts and Petit Vour. The All Natural Face also do a beauty box of sorts. πŸ™‚ Good luck!

    1. Thank you so much πŸ™‚ i will check them out. Im in the middle at the moment, who knows where i will end up but with some good companies to try out i can’t complain! πŸ™‚ xx

    1. Thank you, i did mention in my post i wasn’t up for trying Vegan Kind just yet as it is every 3 months but hopefully i can will find a monthly one:) x

  5. Hello Kate,

    Although I am not vegan, nor vegetarian I have been trying to switch my skincare to green and my makeup to at least cruelty free and preferably green as well. I understand that it is so hard to transition from old favourites and I still struggle with it. Especially when you hope that something will perform well and it doesn’t.

    I would say that if you are on the fence, try and go without what is making you feel guilty. I have one box for all my green and cruelty free cosmetics and keep all my regular stuff in a drawer. I occasionally pop back to the drawer. But mostly I have been getting on well with he green box. With the exception of concealer. I have not found the one yet!

    It has taken me a year to get to this stage, so don’t feel discourage with your progress. Even though I am really in to green beauty I still have some “toxic” products that I use. For example, I use a physician’s formula eyeliner that is great it is cruelty free but nor green. It is all a unique perspective. I was talking to someone during the #greenchat on Sunday and they said they would never ever go back to using non green products. Where as I know that I am vain enough to want some products to perform better than others, I just hope for them to be cruelty free and not contain a couple of ingredient I know that I should avoid for the wellbeing of my skin.

    What I’m trying to say with this massive essay, is that I’m positive that you are heading in the right direction for you and you will find what fits with your life ethos.

    Good Luck and remember to have fun with it and ultimately you know what will make you happy and what is right.

    Love!

    1. Thanks for your detailed response Liz πŸ˜ƒ my plan is to try out as many /vegan/cruelty free products as possible and see what i can find as i know there are some good brands out there already! πŸ‘Œ im excited on this chapter of my life and since turning to green products beauty is not conprimised infact its the opposite and that is something ive really come to understand. I rarely use any chemical laden products anymore unless i dont have a green dupe for it so im pleased with that and so is my skin! πŸ˜ƒThank you for advice hun i know im heading to a happier place on this journey so that is the main focus i guess! Hope your having a lovely day! ❀️ xx

  6. It is great that you decided to go vegan! I have been on this path for a while now and I can recommend some of the vegan or cruelty-free brands that I got in the UK. Firstly, The Whole Foods Market and Planet Organic have a lot to offer. Also, Holland and Barret, apparently even Superdrug offers a lot of cruelty-free and vegan products. Some of my personal fav brands are: Lily Lolo, 100% Pure, Ecotools (for cruelty-free makeup brushes), Pacifica (perfumes etc.), Dr. Hauschka (not always vegan, but it is cruelty-free), Ecover (great cruelty-free cleaning products available in Planet Organic and I am 95% sure they are in Whole Foods as well), Lush (everything is vegetarian, with the majority of the products being vegan. Also, they are fighting against testing on animals. Personally, I love their lipsticks, which are vegan as well). Hope that helps. I am sorry, I got a bit carried away with this mini essay, but I get so excited about this lifestyle, because I think it is amazing πŸ™‚

    Aniqa Dreams

    1. If only we had a Whole Foods & Planet Organic in Manchester it sucks! I mainly get my products online. I didn’t know about superdrug. Im being very picking wanting natural, cruelty free, and vegan products but what can i say i want the best for my body! Still yet to try 100% pure, i love Lily Lolo.Thanks for all the great info! πŸ™‚ xx

Leave a Reply

