Going Vegan #2: Learning so much!

P1050414

I can’t believe how much i am learning on this lifestyle. I feel overwhelmed with information like i could burst! I certainly am not saying this in a bad way, quite the opposite. I’m excited to share with you my journey and what i continue to learn.

I don’t think i mentioned this before but i am following the ‘Raw till 4’ lifestyle created by Freelee the Banana Girl over on YouTube. This includes eating plenty of fresh fruit and veg throughout the day up until 2 hours before your evening meal in which you can then eat foods such as potato’s, rice, pasta for a wholesome plant based dinner. The key here is plenty of carbs! There are certain unsupported ingredients like, onions, garlic and fermented foods like soy amongst others. This mainly restricted within the first 30 days. I followed the lifestyle to a T initially but found it was rather stressful cutting out foods that are even classed as vegan. So rather than hinder the stress i just rolled with it and if an onion was all i had it to flavour my food then so be it!

Since becoming vegan i have noticed that not all vegans are on the same page! There are raw vegans, plant based vegans, junk food vegans and within that there are different types of diets such as 801010, Raw till 4, High Carb Low Fat (HCLF). Sounds confusing right? Well not really just compare it to being a carnivore and then having the different diets such as the Atkins diet, Dunkan diet and the Low carb diet etc, it’s no different.

I’d also like to point out that not all vegans are in agreement with each other either! It quite often gets heated between raw and cooked vegans over on YouTube. Personally each to their own and i understand that if anything most vegans are passionate about the way they live their lives and just want to get that message across.

After doing some serious research i chose ‘Raw till 4’ as being the best for me. It is most convenient for my lifestyle and doesn’t really require too much forward planning. That being said in the beginning i did fret and buy way to much, but you quickly learn from the mistakes and it gets much easier. I would say the only hard thing is always making sure you have ripe fruit readily available to eat. You don’t want to be eating fruit when it isn’t ripe, it is not good for digestion!

Talking of digestion all i can say is wow! Without getting to the nitty gritty my digestion was something of a pain in the arse (excuse the pun). I was diagnosed with IBS around 3 years ago. Fast forward to now and i have no troubles at all. In such a short period if time I have managed to turn it all around. This lifestyle is certainly working for me in everyway possible, the benefits so far have been amazing!

I will get into more detail on particular subjects throughout my journey but for now I’m documenting it as i go along.

If you have any questions you would like to ask me or want to know how to get started please feel free to email me here.

I hope your all having a lovely day!

With Love,

Kate X

2 comments

  1. Glad veganism is going well for you! I am a fellow vegan and if you wanna have a chat and exchange tips, I am here 🙂
    I would love to know a bit more about you, so have nominated you for the liebster award. Go to my blog and click on the liebster link for more info.
    I had so much fun answering the questions a fellow blogger gave me, so give it a go if you want
    xxxxxxx

    1. High 5 for fellow vegan! I need some fellow vegans around me for moral support haha. Thank you so much for the nomination 🙂 I will definitely do it! xx

Leave a Reply

