Badger balm Review!

IMG_7628

I’m always skeptical when it comes to sleeping remedies, i refuse to take pills and have been a night owl for as long as i can remember. My reasons for not taking tablets is simply because i do not want them in my body as i feel they don’t belong there. This is a personal choice. I have no judgement on anyone taking prescribed tablets.

I used to envy those who fell asleep as soon as their head touched the pillow, but not anymore. I know that a good nights sleep is important to function properly and in a restless moment some time back i decided to search the internet for natural remedies which is where i came across Badger sleep balmBadger is a well known family owned company based in New Hampshire, praised for their high quality natural and organic products. I had heard about them before but never purchased anything so in a moment of weakness i decided to go for it and order the sleep balm, what did i have to lose?

IMG_7624

Well, nothing it would appear in fact i had a lot to gain. I use to hate the smell of lavender as a child so on arrival i was a bit apprehensive about what it was going to be like being a ‘lavender & bergamot’ scent. However i needn’t have worried. I actually loved it. I would say it has quite a strong aroma but in a good way. The balm itself has a vaseline kind of texture and a little goes a long way. I rub it on my temples and on my wrists before bed and it certainly relaxes me. I am not saying this has cured my sleepless nights but it has definitely helped. I sleep much better nowadays this is also down to more me time, doing the things i love, eating well most of the time and exercising, I am not for one minute going to say it is all down to this balm. I do however think smells have a big impact on the brain and what we associate them with. In fact I’m quite sure this has been proven scientifically. So if you struggle for a good nights rest give this a go. It retails at £4.99 for 21g. You can also get it slightly cheaper on Amazon sometimes so check there first!

Ingredients: *Olea Europaea (Extra Virgin Olive) Oil, *Ricinus Communis (Castor) Oil, *Cera Alba (Beeswax), Essential Oils of *Citrus Aurantium Bergamia (Bergamot), *Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender), *Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary Verbenone), *Zingiber Officinale (Ginger), *Abies Balsamea (Balsam Fir) and CO2 Extract of Zingiber Officinale (Ginger).

* = Certified Organic

 

I also have the cheerful mind balm (28g £5.99) which is a sweet orange and spearmint aroma. This smells amazing, even the boyfriend likes this one. I carry it around in my bag during the day and whenever I’m feeling slightly uptight i just whip it out of my bag and give it a good sniff. People must think I’m crazy but there is something about smells which i can’t get enough of. They do a wide variety of balms from muscle and joint care to health and wellness, take a look at their range here.

IMG_7625

IMG_7622

Ingredients: *Olea Europaea (Extra Virgin Olive) Oil, *Cera Alba (Beeswax), Essential Oils of *Citrus Auranitum Dulcis (Sweet Orange), *Citrus Medica Limonum (Lemon), *Mentha Viridis (Spearmint), *Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary Verbenone), *Cinnamomum Cassia (Cinnamon), *Citrus Aurantium Amara (Bitter Orange), *Cananga Odorata (Ylang Ylang), and CO2 Extracts of *Rosa Canina (Rosehip) & *Calendula Officinalis (Calendula).

* = Certified Organic

Have you tried any of the Badger Balms? Do you struggle to sleep? Have you got any remedies of your own? I’d love to know! 🙂

4 comments

    1. I dont dig citrus either so I’m suprised i bought this, but as i said in my post i used to dislike lavender and now every night i roll in it so if thats anything to go by go for it. I would say it is very sweet much more orangy with the tiniest hint of spearmint. xx

Leave a Reply

