Do you steam?

IMG_7356

So I’ve been steaming for a while now mainly because i see a major difference in my skin when i stick to it! It helps to free any bacteria or trapped dirt and increases blood circulation to give you that radiant glow! There are many arguments for and against steaming but personally it works for me so i thought i would share how i go about it and what the benefits are.

I don’t have a fancy facial steamer i just use a good old kettle and a glass bowl from the kitchen. I do this once a week for 6 minutes, the length of time is important as this may do more damage than good if you don’t get it right. I would say for dry or problematic skin the less time the better whereas if you have an oily complexion you can get away with it for longer at around 10 minutes. The reason for this is because steaming can actually dehydrate the skin, however what it does do is allows the skin to better absorb moisture which is the reason i do it.

My skin type – Dry, sensitive and in the summer months more combination. I am also prone to breakouts, mainly hormonal nowadays.

IMG_7359

Step 1

Wash/ cleanse your face. You don’t want to steam with a full face of make up or with yesterdays mascara left on! (serious panda eye issues if you do)

Step 2

Boil the kettle or bring a pan of water to the boil (i use the kettle personally, I’m impatient)

Step 3

Pour the hot water into a bowl and I’m not talking your coco pops bowl, i mean a large bowl you may use for baking, i would make sure it’s made from glass, you don’t really want to be melting plastic and breathing it in, know what I’m saying!?

IMG_7360

Step 4

If you like you can add some essential oils to your hot water. I like to use lavender or chamomile from time to time. This has no benefit what so ever other than the fact it makes sticking your head over a glass bowl more appealing.

Step 5

Get a timer and set it to go off after your desired time so you don’t have to keep bobbing you head up every 2 second to check your not going to melt your face off (i use my iPhone).

Step 6

Place your head over the glass bowl. Don’t get too close please! It will scold you immensely! It may also cause broken capillaries, i would say a could 10 inches away.

Step 7

Wash your face with cool water and pat your face with a towel,  not completely dry but just enough to leave it slightly damp.

Step 8

My favourite part! Apply a good hydrating moisturiser and let it sink in to your skin, by now your skin should be feeling smooth and soft! You can also exfoliate before moisturising if it takes your fancy! Don’t forget to use a lip balm too to re-hydrate those lips!

IMG_7350

I would like to point out that if you suffer from any skin condition such as acne or rosacea that this may make your skin worse. I used to suffer with acne however this personally helped my skin so it is about what suits you! And best of all, if you do it from home like me, its free!

Top tip – Do this a couple of hours before a night out and it will create a good smooth base for your makeup!

Do you steam? Have you had any good experiences? Let me know in the comments below!

With Love

Kate X

2 comments

  1. Thank you so much 🙂 yes you should definitely try it out and see how you get on it really does make my skin feel like a babies bottom, as the saying goes. X

Leave a Reply

